Argyle Continues to Win Awards Following Title Win

  • BY Steve Gamel
  • October 24, 2019
By Steve Gamel

The high school baseball season has been over since June, but Argyle continues to pull in a slew of postseason accolades after winning its second straight Class 4A state championship.

The latest awards were announced by the Texas Sportswriters Association in August. Dillon Carter was named the 4A co-player of the year and highlighted a list of seven Eagles who made this year’s team. Chad Ricker, Preston King, and Hayden Clearman were all first-team selections. Brenden Dixon and Alex Gonzales made the third team.

Sean Bolin was an honorable mention, and head coach Ricky Griffin was named coach of the year.

All of these athletes and coach Griffin were no-brainer selections given their dominance on the baseball field. Argyle amassed a staggering 77-1-1 record over the last two seasons while winning back-to-back state titles. Argyle, which also won a state title in 2015 and has advanced to the state tournament four times in the past six seasons, is the first team in UIL baseball history to follow up an undefeated season with another state title.

Carter, who is now at Texas Tech, hit .400 this past season and was a key piece to both title-winning teams in 2018 and 2019. Not to be outdone, Ricker went 12-0 on the mound this year with 96 strikeouts and a 0.88 ERA. King and Clearman rounded out the first-team honors for Argyle. They batted .385 and .366 last season with a combined 71 RBIs.

While the focus for all championship success falls squarely on the players, a lot of credit goes to head coach Ricky Griffin. Besides being named coach of the year by the TSWA, Griffin was one of 11 coaches named National Coach of the Year by the American Baseball Coaches Association shortly after the season ended.

Related Articles