Eagles Rule All-District Team

Eagles Rule All-District Team

by Steve Gamel

Argyle linebacker Gage Campbell was named MVP of District 4-4A (Division I), capping a standout season in which he led a dominating Eagles’ defense.

Campbell, a senior, follows in a long line of stellar linebackers the Eagles have had over the years. He finished the regular season – all-district teams are voted on by coaches and only account for regular-season performances – with 84 tackles (15 for loss) with seven sacks, three recovered fumbles, and one sack.

As a team, Argyle held opponents to 13.9 points per game during the regular season. Argyle went on to win its first two playoff games with ease before falling to Stephenville in the third round.
Joining Campbell on this year’s list were Preston Coyle, the district’s offensive lineman of the year, and Hayden Clearman. Clearman was voted co-utility player of the year.

Overall, Argyle finished with 25 all-district selections. Below is the complete District 4-4A (Division I) All-District team.

District 4-4A (Division I) All-District Team
District MVP: Gage Campbell, Argyle, Sr.
Offensive Player of the Year: Daimarqua Foster, Wichita Falls Hirschi, Jr.
Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Brandon Baker, Gainesville, So; A.J. Martinez, Decatur, So.
Defensive Newcomer of the Year: Fred Fleeks, Wichita Falls Hirschi, So.
Offensive Lineman of the Year: Preston Coyle, Argyle, Sr.
Defensive Lineman of the Year: Ezekiel Holmes, Wichita Falls Hirschi, Sr.
Utility Player of the Year: Hayden Clearman, Argyle, Jr.; Calion Baker, Gainesville, Sr.
Coaching Staff of the Year: Wichita Falls Hirschi

First Team Offense
Quarterback: Jon Copeland, Argyle, Sr.
Running Back: Gavin Brown, Sanger, Sr.; Don Williams, Argyle, Sr.; Dameon Moser, Sanger, Sr.
Receivers: Dillon Wilkerson, Sanger, Jr.; Wes McCollum, Argyle, Sr.; Cale Nanny, Argyle, Sr.; Carrington Manuel, Burkburnett, Sr.; Alec Uselton, Decatur, Sr.; Mario Reyes, Decatur, Sr.; Josh Kemp, Gainesville, Gainesville, Sr.; Javen Banks, Hirschi, Sr.; Xavier Wilson, Wichita
Falls Hirschi, Sr.
Tight End: Bryson Hudgens, Argyle, Sr.
Center: Shawn Cunningham, Wichita Falls Hirschi, Sr.; Brent Uys, Argyle, Sr.
Guard: Garrett Thomas, Argyle, Jr.; Ty Watson, Decatur, Sr.
Tackle: Michael Harris, Wichita Falls Hirschi, Sr.; Preston Wilson, Argyle, Jr.

First Team Defense
Defensive Tackle: Lloyd Murray, Wichita Falls Hirschi, Jr.; Jake Galbreath, Sanger, Sr.; Kaden Roberts, Argyle, Sr.
Defensive End: Chase Petter, Argyle, Jr.; Tyler Edington, Gainesville, Sr.
Inside Linebacker: Harrison Haney, Decatur, Sr.; Brock Howard, Sanger, Jr.; Mason Underwood, Burkburnett, Jr.
Outside Linebacker: Luke Pennington, Sanger, Sr.; Blake Ramsey, Argyle, Jr.; Cole Denman, Decatur, Sr.
Corners: Brenden Dixon, Argyle, Jr.; Gerrick McKinney, Hirschi, Sr.
Safeties: Nate Downing, Wichita Falls Hirschi, Jr.; Eli Wilson, Sanger, Sr.; Jake Sullivan, Argyle, So.
Kicker: Ivan Franco, Gainesville, Sr.
Punter: Alex Gonzales, Argyle, So.

Second Team Offense

Quarterback: Wilson Hicks, Decatur, Jr.; Martez V’rana Wichita Falls Hirschi, Sr.; CJ Jackson, Sanger, Sr.
Running Back: Andrew Calvin, Wichita Falls Hirschi, Sr.; Noah Lang, Argyle, Jr.; Marcus Jackson, Burkburnett, Jr.
Receiver: Chase Estrada, Argyle, Sr.; Jacob Williams, Burkburnett, Jr.; Beau Bedford, Decatur, Jr.; Jalen McGee, Gainesville, Sr.; Isaiah Esquibel, Wichita Falls Hirschi, Sr.; Hank Lemons, Sanger, Jr.
Tight End: Isaiah Rankin, Wichita Falls Hirschi, Sr.

Second Team Defense
Defensive Tackle: Mason Thrash, Argyle, Sr.; Christian Hendricks, Wichita Falls Hirschi, Jr.
Defensive End: Braxton Roth, Decatur, Sr.; Blake Michels, Argyle, Jr.; Amiri Campbell, Wichita Falls Hirschi, Sr.
Inside Linebacker: Casey White, Decatur, Sr.; Bryce Petty, Sanger, Jr.; Scott Dunham, Argyle, Sr.
Outside Linebacker: Tory Temple, Wichita Falls Hirschi, Sr.; Walker Dickson, Argyle, Sr.; Dylan Nation, Decatur, Sr.
Corners: Baron Bailey, Sanger, Sr.; Slater Wright, Argyle, Sr.; Jaden Banks, Wichita
Falls Hirschi, Sr.
Safeties: Josh Sij, Decatur, Sr.; Stavonte Vaughn, Wichita Falls Hirschi, So; Braden
Pruett, Argyle, Sr.
Kicker: Juan Martinez, Sanger, Sr.

Related Articles

Pitch Counts in High School Baseball…It’s Happening Folks

by Steve Gamel I wrote a column a few months ago touching on a potential University Interscholastic League policy change

2018 Signing Period: Argyle Eagles and Liberty Christian Warriors

2018 Signing Period: Argyle Eagles and Liberty Christian Warriors by Steve Gamel Another signing day is in the books for

No Surprise: UIL football State Title Games Return to AT&T Stadium

by Steve Gamel As was reported last month by a slew of media outlets, the UIL football state championship games

No comments

Write a comment
No Comments Yet! You can be first to comment this post!

Write a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.
Required fields are marked*