Eagles and Warriors Well Represented on Baseball/Softball All-District Teams

Eagles and Warriors Well Represented on Baseball/Softball All-District Teams

The annual all-district awards were released early last month for the 2017 high school baseball and softball season, and several players from Argyle and Liberty Christian earned
high praise.

In baseball, Argyle senior pitcher Connor Mushinski was named the most valuable player for District 9-4A and led a list of four Eagles who picked up a superlative honor. Joining him were Dillon Carter (offensive player of the year), Sean Bolin (co-newcomer of the year), and Chad Ricker (utility player of the year). The Argyle coaches were the district’s staff of the year.

Players in each district are chosen by district coaches, who consider only district performances. Argyle, which won 25 games and advanced to the fourth round of the playoffs, dominated its district with 12 selections between superlative, first team, and second team.

Meanwhile, Liberty Christian had six players make the TAPPS 1-6A baseball team, including four first teamers in Kason Howell, Joseph Wolf, Brayden Dragoo and Kevin House. Cale Hundley and Evan Davis were both second-team selections.

In softball, Marley Straubmueller, Sarah Oellermann, Tori Burke, Abby Williams and Sam Aring all represented the Argyle Lady Eagles in District 9-4A. Straubmueller, Oellermann, and Burke all made the first team in a district that featured eventual state champion, Krum.

In TAPPS 1-6A, three Lady Warriors made their all-district team, led by the first-team duo of sophomore Gracie Arthur and junior Peyton Wohnoutka. Peyton Sanderson made second team.

MVP – Connor Mushinski, Argyle, Sr.
Offensive Player of the Year – Dillon Carter, Argyle, So.
Defensive Player of the Year – Derek Potts, Decatur, Sr.
Co-Newcomers of the Year – Sean Bolin, Argyle, So.; Katz Higa, Sanger, Jr.
Pitcher of the Year – Bryce Elder, Decatur, Sr.
Co-Utility Players of the Year – Chad Ricker, Argyle, So.; Trey Penny, Decatur, Sr.
Coaching Staff of the Year — Argyle
First team:
Pitchers — Wilson Hicks, Decatur, So.; Tristen Flanagan, Krum, Jr.; Dayton Harkey, Sanger, Jr.; Brett Lundy, Argyle, Sr.; Hayden Clearman, Argyle, So.
Catcher — Tucker DuBois, Decatur, Sr.
Infield — Cole Lee, Krum, So.; Brenden Dixon, Argyle, So.; Gage Campbell, Argyle, Jr.; Ethan Herschler, Bridgeport, Jr.; Eddie Fernandez, Decatur, Fr.;
Jaxon Terrell, Decatur, Sr.
Outfield – Tyler Ticknor, Decatur, Sr.; Julien Ly, Sanger, Sr.; Watson Timmons, Argyle, Sr.; Chase Tower, Krum, Jr.; Luke Pennington, Sanger, Jr.
Designated Hitter – Bryson Hudgens, Argyle, Jr.

District 9-4A (SOFTBALL)
MVP — Tristan Bridges, Krum, Jr.
Newcomer of the Year — Jordyn Smith, Decatur, Fr.
Pitcher of the Year — Mary Gerken, Gainesville, Sr.
Catcher of the Year — Kimberlin Hopson, Sanger, Fr.
Co – Offensive MVP — Regan Smith, Krum, Jr.; Katelynn Stamper, Sanger, Sr.
Defensive MVP –Lynzie Rollins, Sanger, Fr.
Utility Player of the Year — Hailey Hollingsworth, Bridgeport, Sr.
Coaching Staff of the Year — Krum 
First Team: Marley Straubmueller, Argyle, Jr.; Sarah Oellermann, Argyle, So.; Tori Burke, Argyle, Sr.; Savannah Wilson, Decatur, So.; Liz Green, Gainesville, Sr.; Avery Williams, Krum, Sr.; Kelsie Roberts, Krum, Sr.; Lindsay Beutnagel, Krum, So; Maddie Goin, Krum, Jr.; Morgan Sebastian, Krum, Jr.; McKayla McDaniel, Sanger, Sr. 

First Team: Kason Howell, Liberty Christian, Jr.; Josh Esclamado, Addison Trinity Christian, Jr.; Blake Marsh, Addison Trinity Christian, So.; Nykolahs Yaquab, Plano John Paul II, Jr.; Joseph Wolf, Liberty Christian, So.; Ryan Firestone, Fort Worth Nolan Catholic, Sr.; Jarod Free, Plano Prestonwood, Sr.; Gabriel Vasquez, Dallas Bishop Lynch, Jr.; Cole Tidmore, Dallas Parish Episcopal, Jr.; Brayden Dragoo, Liberty Christian, Sr.; Brett Bartol, Addison Trinity Christian, Sr.; Kyle Lynch, Dallas Bishop Dunne Lynch, Jr.; Joseph Rutherford, Dallas Bishop Lynch, Sr.; Nick Clift, Addison Trinity Christian, So.; Kevin House, Liberty Christian, Sr.

First Team: Miranda Papes, Dallas Ursuline Academy, Sr.; Riley Cantrell, Dallas Bishop Lynch, Jr.; Elena Larsen, Fort Worth Nolan Catholic, Fr.; Serenity Healy, Fort Worth Nolan Catholic, Sr.; Madeline Claybrook, Dallas Ursuline Academy, Fr.; Gabriela Quintanilla, Dallas Bishop Lynch, Fr.; Avery Boley, Fort Worth Nolan Catholic, Jr.; Kristen Linares, Dallas Bishop Lynch, Sr.; Elizabeth Stewart, Plano John Paul II, Jr.; Caroline Grindinger, Dallas Ursuline Academy, Sr.; Gracie Arthur, Liberty Christian, So.; Abby Thrash, Dallas Bishop Dunne, So.; Calli Lynch, Dallas Bishop Dunne, Fr.; Peyton Wohnoutka, Liberty Christian, Jr.; Kortlyn Brown, Fort Worth Nolan Catholic, Fr. 

Related Articles

My kitchen isn’t working for me

Remember that your kitchen should have or needs to use the basic principle of kitchen design: A work triangle. That

Toyota Retreat Center Coming to Denton County

by Sarah Bays Most of us know that Toyota is moving into Plano with a 100-acre spread bringing between 4,000

Bringing Back Memories

by Steve Gamel So I was sitting in my office the other day pecking away at the keyboard when suddenly

No comments

Write a comment
No Comments Yet! You can be first to comment this post!

Write a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.
Required fields are marked*