Argyle Basketball Dominates District 9-4A All-District Teams

Argyle Basketball Dominates District 9-4A All-District Teams

by Steve Gamel

The Argyle girls and boys basketball teams dominated their respective District 9-4A all-district teams last month, including the girls, who were awarded every available superlative honor after winning their third straight Class 4A state title.

Vivian Gray, a senior forward and one of the top players in the nation, again reigned supreme as the district’s most valuable player after leading the Lady Eagles in every major statistical category. The Fort Lewis signee finished her final high school season averaging just shy of 23 points per game with 8.8 rebounds, 3.6 assists, 2.2 steals and 1.4 blocks per game. She was also named the state tournament MVP.

Gray was joined on the list by Madison Ralston (Offensive MVP) and Jocelyn Pierce (Defensive MVP). Freshman Brooklyn Carl was the district’s top newcomer and Sophie Betzhold took home sixth man of the year. Overall, Argyle had seven players make this year’s team, including two first-team selections (Gabby Standifer and Rhyle McKinney).

On the boys’ side, the Eagles (33-4 and Class 4A state semifinalists) were led by senior guard Nathan Priddy, who was named co-MVP of 9-4A. He was one of three Eagles to earn superlative honors, including Christian Splain (Defensive MVP) and Brandon White (Newcomer).

The Argyle staff led by head coach Russell Perkins was named co-coaching staff of the year. Argyle’s David Davis and Jon Harding were first-team selections. Below is the full all-district list.

Vivian Gray: Argyle, Sr.

Offensive MVP
Madison Ralston: Argyle, Sr.

Defensive MVP
Jocelyn Pierce: Argyle, Sr.

Newcomer of the Year
Brooklyn Carl: Argyle, Fr.

Sixth Man of the Year
Sophie Betzhold: Argyle, Jr.

Parker Hicks: Decatur, Sr.
Nathan Priddy: Argyle, Sr.

Defensive MVP
Christian Splain: Argyle, Sr.

Newcomer of the Year
Brandon White: Argyle, So.

Offensive Player of the Year
Bryce Elder: Decatur, Sr.

Co-Coaching Staffs of the Year Russell Perkins: Argyle
Drew Coffman: Decatur

Gabby Standifer: Argyle, Jr.
Rhyle McKinney: Argyle, Fr.
Rhett Robinson: Krum, Jr.
Taylor Schertz: Krum, Sr.
Brooke Rollins: Sanger, So.
Breanna Henderson: Sanger, Sr.
Tatum Whitewood: Sanger, Jr.
Emily Vidal: Bridgeport, Fr.
Hannah Dunning: Decatur, Sr.
Shaylee Smith: Decatur, Sr.

David Davis: Argyle, Sr.
Jon Harding: Argyle, Sr.
Jason Faulkenberry: Bridgeport, So.
Andrew Horton: Bridgeport, Jr.
Justin Meyers: Bridgeport, Sr.
Dane Fitzgerald: Decatur, Jr.
Wilson Hicks: Decatur, So.
Drew Redwine: Decatur, Sr.
Josh Kemp: Gainesville, Jr.
Zach Blevins: Gainesville, Jr.
Remi May: Krum, Jr.
Caleb Schertz: Krum, Jr.
Bryson Laird: Krum, Jr.
Braven Smith: Sanger, Sr.

Related Articles

Elizabeth Reneau Wins Another State Title

by Steve Gamel Winning state championships is becoming old hat for Liberty Christian’s Elizabeth Reneau. Believe it or not, the

Hilltop Students Going To Archery World Tournament

By Susan Neuhalfen Thanks to Coach Joan Wittmis, Argyle Archery has become a household name. The physical education teacher at

Gamel: Top 5 Reasons to Love Sports More During Spring

by Steve Gamel Someone came up to me recently while I was covering a soccer match and asked, “Why aren’t

No comments

Write a comment
No Comments Yet! You can be first to comment this post!

Write a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.
Required fields are marked*